

Office of Marketing, Animal Industries and Consumer Services

Wes Moore, Governor Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor Kevin M. Atticks, Secretary Steven A. Connelly, Deputy Secretary

Agricultural Fair Board

Agriculture | Maryland's Leading Industry mda.maryland.gov

The Wayne A. Cawley, Jr. Building 50 Harry S Truman Parkway Annapolis, Maryland 21401

410-841-5770 Baltimore/Washington 410-841-5987 Fax

Maryland Agricultural Fair Board Minutes February 22, 2023

The meeting was called to order by Connie Palmer, Chairperson at 10:05 A.M.

Attendance

Board- Linda Brown, David Cavey, Carl Hobbs, Daniel Mast, James Moxley III, Connie Palmer, Rebecca Stem, Dawn Stiles

Staff- Jessica O'Sullivan

Minutes of October 2023

Motion to accept minutes was first approved by James Moxley and seconded by Carl Hobbs. Motion Passed.

<u>Updates</u>

- The brochure was discussed and a decision was made to keep it virtual this year to help cut back on costs.
- Grant agreements will be sent after the next meeting, requested to be signed and mailed back to Jessica.
- Decisions on chickens at the shows are still being made by animal health.
- Carryover and expected revenue for the year was discussed and an update from the fiscal department was given.
- An email with all the new board members and positions was sent to all fairs and shows to update their brochures and websites.
- There were no updates to the requirements sent by the Animal Health Department.
- The required list was also sent to all fairs and shows.
- The budget sheet was updated with the requested changes to remove those shows no longer being funded and to add the grant requested amount from FY 24.
- Each board member discussed their regional meetings and what each fair is requesting and
- An after-activity report is still needed from MAEF.

Upcoming Board Meetings

The next meeting will be March 29, 2023, at 10:00 A.M. via zoom and in person. Where we will decide what funds will be given to each fair and show.

Adjournment

Motion to adjourn was made by Linda Brown and seconded by David Cavey. Chairperson, Connie Palmer adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted by Jessica O'Sullivan Executive Secretary